SAS Backplane and Controller Card Questions

IceDigger

Sort-of-Regular
Joined
May 11, 2019
Messages
251
Points
43
Lets say I have this setup

4u supermicro server w/ sas6 controller and unknown backplane. 12gb sas 10tb drive

The 12gb sas drive will not register in the computer.

Is this an issue with the backplane being older or the sas controller being older or both?

I know nothing about sas backplanes.
 

Dan_D

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 6, 2019
Messages
1,315
Points
113
If the controller is slower, the drive will downgrade in speed. However, the back plane could be an issue. Back planes are a bit of a pain. It could be bad, or it just might not be cooperating due to the fact it may not have been designed for 12Gb/s drives. In theory, it should allow the negotiation at a slower speed, but this doesn't always work in my experience.
 

David_Schroth

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 23, 2019
Messages
684
Points
93
First gen SAS does not support drives over 2TB. Can you crack the case and get the part number off the backplane? Shouldn't be too hard to do....

You should be able to connect the drive straight to the board and yield profit.
 

Zarathustra

Cloudless
Joined
Jun 19, 2019
Messages
738
Points
93
Yeah, if you suspect a backplane issue, try bypassing it by connecting it straight to the controller.
 

Eduardo_Domingot

{NG}Fidel
Staff member
Joined
Jul 11, 2019
Messages
510
Points
63
Indeed. Back planes suck and is the likely culprit. Eliminate or confirm it's the issue by bypassing it.
At my old DC jobs I would rather replace a mobo than a backplane half the time. The effort required was absurd.
 

Ready4Droid

Slightly less n00b
Joined
Jul 9, 2019
Messages
82
Points
18
Early sas is size limited, my Dell r710 with perc 6i had a firmware update to be able to support 4TB drives... Probably a similar limitation. Either update was controller or plug large drive into sata port on MB and use smaller drives on sas/raid.
 
Become a Patron!
Top