What’s the right motherboard for me?

Endgame

Semi-regular
25 years ago as my high school job (****, has it been that long?!?) I worked for a computer shop building computers, tech support for dial up, etc. I had the job through college and got to use every brand of motherboard there is. ASUS was my favorite, especially the old T-Bird mother boards.

I’ve been using ASUS though sheer inertia for 10 years at this point... maybe it’s time to branch out against for my new Ryzen 5950 build?

what I want:
Solid VRM solution for a triple Rad WC build running folding 24x7 when not gaming or working
Integrated fan control
Multi pcie 4 NVME
Linux support for required apps, to change boost profiles

nice to have, not critical
10gbit nic
Bios flashing tools (ex: flash back)

what I don’t want
WiFi (Wired for life)
Disco lights
LN2 support
Integrated audio (seriously, I’ve never used it in a single build - moved from a sound blaster to USB head set years ago)

I’m sure I’ll think of more, but this is the high level stuff

25 years ago as my high school job (****, has it been that long?!?) I worked for a computer shop building computers, tech support for dial up, etc. I had the job through college and got to use every brand of motherboard there is. ASUS was my favorite, especially the old T-Bird mother boards.

I’ve been using ASUS though sheer inertia for 10 years at this point... maybe it’s time to branch out against for my new Ryzen 5950 build?

what I want:
Solid VRM solution for a triple Rad WC build running folding 24x7 when not gaming or working
Integrated fan control
Multi pcie 4 NVME
Linux support for required apps, to change boost profiles

nice to have, not critical
10gbit nic
Bios flashing tools (ex: flash back)

what I don’t want
WiFi (Wired for life)
Disco lights
LN2 support
Integrated audio (seriously, I’ve never used it in a single build - moved from a sound blaster to USB head set years ago)

I’m sure I’ll think of more, but this is the high level stuff

VRMs