Yikes, What happened to the Front Page?

Zarathustra

Cloudless
The old layout was clean and easy to navigate.

Just seeing a new layout today, and wow is it busy and muddled, with clunky large menu elements that waste screen real estate. Quite frankly it is a HUGE downgrade, and makes the site look like a mobile page, even on a desktop.

Old Design:

Page 1:

1666108477298.png1666108528273.png

New Design:

1666108666805.png1666108761782.png

Is this intended to be the final layout, or is it something that is still being tinkered with?

I find the new layout is much more difficult to follow and effectively use.

Last edited:
Tinkering can still be done - we needed to move off the old theme due to it not having the ability to add features that I'm working on and it being more or less unsupportable (I'm not a coder, yet.. the custom code was unreal... a basic update would have exploded the whole thing).

For that very top menu, that's a window width thing that I may be able to handle more elegantly - hold my beer on that, but I can probably put in a width limiter and hide a portion of that menu below a certain window size.

Can you be more specific related to the menu elements that aren't helpful beyond that very top one? Should the main menu not float down with your scroll?

A quick explainer on the logic for how I laid it out (which, is very easy to change) ->

Front Page
First section, most recent 7 reviews.

Second section, left column -> most recent 7 news postings.
Second section, middle column -> 8th to 10th most recent reviews
Section section, right column -> A way for a user to quickly get to review content they may want via a search box and categories. Also room for an ad slot that doesn't seem to have checked in on your browser 👀

Third section - 8th - 20th most recent news posting, infinite load a few times before quitting.