Starfield Runs Better with NVIDIA DLSS, Benchmarks for AMD-Sponsored Game Show

Tsing

The FPS Review
Staff member
Should Starfield have launched with NVIDIA DLSS? Yeah, probably, as benchmarks for the game's beta update have begun showing up online, revealing what is apparently the better choice for those who need a performance boost in Bethesda's newish sci-fi RPG (hint: almost everyone).

See full article...

There was never gonna be any surprise that DLSS runs better, especially since community-provided DLSS mods/DLLs were already proving that. A very clear "no duh" or "no sh1t Sherlock" situation for Starfield. But that's how it always goes with DLSS. Provides the best image quality and provides the best performance compared to FSR and XeSS.

Last edited:
NEWS: Competitors software technology runs better on competitors hardware!
In other news: Competitors software doesn't run at all on other hardware!
Elsewhere: Water is wet!

Seems like if I was a developer I would first implement features that can help all users and implement hardware specific items at a later time.

I write this as an NVidia user. I had no problem with them doing FSR first because it make sense for the studio to do, even if it wasn't AMD sponsored.
The article comes across like it was written by NVidia or with an agenda.
Did FSR do better than Native - yes, was it poor looking - no, did it work for everyone - yes.
Hard to argue with that.

Last edited:
Honestly I think the better comparison to come is FSR3 to DLSS with framegen. I'll be sure to tinker with FSR3.

Though to be honest... I've seen nary a hitch playing at 1440p with my setup and everything maxed no FSR.

Remember when the 10 series came out... it was so much faster they introduced a technology to run the game at a HIGHER resolution and scale it down to increase lower resolution fidelity?

Seems like a distant memory now.

I'm not a fan of DLSS. Makes everything look like dog poo.