NVIDIA Reiterates 750-W PSU Requirement for GeForce RTX 3090 and GeForce RTX 3080

Tsing

The FPS Review
Staff member
nvidia-geforce-rtx-3090-angled-1024x576.jpg

Prospective GeForce RTX 30 Series owners may need to spend additional money on a bigger power supply. NVIDIA has released an infographic confirming that a 750-watt PSU is “required” for its 8K monster, the GeForce RTX 3090, as well as its newest flagship, the GeForce RTX 3080. The fine print suggests that users may be able to get away with a weaker PSU, but a 750-W power supply seems like the way to go for peace of mind.

The infographic also gives us a pretty clear idea of how much space these GPUs will take up. The meaty GeForce RTX 3090 will take up three expansion slots and require 12.3″ (313 mm) x 5.4″ (138 mm) of clearance, while the GeForce RTX 3080 will take up two expansion slots and require 11.2″ (285 mm) x 4.4″ (112...

Continue reading...

That seems kinda steep. I've been running a 750 watt PSU for many years now (Corsair, EVGA G2, G3) but not out of necessity. Even when I was running an overclocked Bulldozer and AMD 290X video card the PSU fan hardly ever even turned on. Guess we'll have to wait and see when the reviews start dropping but I'll be surprised if a 750 watt PSU is actually "required" for a single 3080. But I've been wrong before.

It depends on the rest of the system.
If the 3090 is 350W stock, overclocked it will likely be able to use 20%-30% more
So just the GPU using up to 450 watts in that scenario.

Not a problem for me, with a Seasonic Prime Platinum 1200W. I know it's overkill but I just couldn't pass on the deal I got on it. I think it was $130 brand new.