Starlink

I was in the process of fixing a DNS issue with my EdgeRouter, when I stumbled across some IPv6 setup notes for using an ER with Starlink.

I have never done anything with IPv6 before. Enabling it in my ER did take a bit more than flipping a switch, but some kind soul had it all mapped out so it wasn't bad. (This Google Doc, from this Reddit Post)

So now IPv6 works, my machines all show valid links. I don't have anything to compare it to, or even really know how. A quick search of speed tests doesn't reveal much, and the ones I do find, IPv6 tends to test slower than v4

For instance, a test I just ran (Starlink speeds are all over the place, this isn't an abnormal result). Just had some neighbors get it as well, haven't noticed any degredation in service, but I haven't been running a bunch of speed tests either.

results

Finally got to our place in the Catskills to hook up our Starlink system. I was shipped the Gen2 version (rectangular dish) and setup was a cakewalk. Considering I couldn't get a totally clear shot to the skyline, I'll take the results I've been given. DL speeds range anywhere from 80 to 120Mbps, while the upload has been relatively steady around the 15 to 25Mbps range. Overall, I'm pleased with my system. My parents are able to watch their Netflix or whatever service they desire in the spur of a moment. My YoutubeTV works well too.

1653861154357.png

Finally got to our place in the Catskills to hook up our Starlink system.

My bro in law's place is in the Catskills, near Roscoe. Hey JUST got his starlink kit, he had been signed up pre-order since the beta. Interesting timing, bc he says Verizon has recently stepped up their LTE in that area. He got a Verizon LTE wireless router a couple months ago and it's not bad, 25-50mbps pretty reliable. Plenty enough for streaming, zoom, downloading games from Steam, etc. Latency isn't great, but I suspect Starlink isn't much better.